Idris Elba, Michael Caine, Ricky Tomlinson and Rupert Everett win big at the 5th annual National Film Awards UK


Idris Elba scored two wins, picking up Best Drama and Best Director for his directorial debut with film ‘Yardie’. Ricky Tomlinson picked up Best Supporting Actor for his role in Gloves off whilst Michael Caine was voted winner of the Global Contribution to Motion Picture at this year’s 5th anniversary of the National Film Awards UK.

The awards held by the National Film Academy is going from strength to strength after recently launching the US version in Los Angeles last year. Over 2.5 million film fans voted this year and the winners were announced by TV Presenter Louise Gookey on Wednesday, 27th of March at the prestigious annual awards ceremony in London. Sylvia Young received an Outstanding Contribution Award for several years of supporting actors, actresses and filmmakers through the Sylvia Young Theatre. Former celebrities who attended the Sylvia Young Theatre school including; Tamzin Outwaithe, Tom Fletcher, James Borthwick , Saphire Ella and Rita Ora and Nathan Sykes graced the stage to celebrate and honour of Sylvia Young who has contributed so much to the industry.

The annual award show celebrates the work of established and independent film makers. This year a total of 2.5 million public votes where received and tonight the winners for all categories where announced at the prestigious annual event. The National Film Awards this year celebrates it’s 5th anniversary tonight. The awards show is also held annually in the USA. The US awards show ‘National Film & TV Awards’ takes place at the Globe Theatre in LA on the 3rd of December 2019.

Here are the winners of this years 2019 National Film Awards:

Best Animation Film
Sherlock Gnomes

Best International Film

Black Panther

Global Contribution to motion picture

Michael Caine

Best Director 2019

Idris Elba (Yardie)

Best Actor 2019

Rupert Everett (The Happy Prince)

Best Actress 2019

Sophie Kennedy Clarke (Obey)

Best Newcomer 2019

Justin Clarke (The Intent 2)

Best Supporting Actress 2019

Charlotte Milchard (Scott and Sid)

Outstanding Contribution Award 2019

Sylvia Young

Best Drama 2019


Best TV Drama Series 2019


Best Thriller 2019

Red con 1

Best Action 2019

Intent 2

Best Independent Film 2019

Dead Ringer

Best Screenplay 2019


Best Documentary 2019

After the Screaming Stops

Best British Film 2019

Scott & Sid

Best Comedy 2019

The More You Ignore Me

Best Breakthrough Performance 2019

Justin ‘Ghetts’ Clarke

Best Feature Film 2019

Gloves Off

Best Producer 2019

Kristian Brodie (Beast)

Best Film Distribution Company 2019

Evolutionary films

Best Film Production Company

Carnaby International

The 5th annual National Film Awards sponsored by Zuricom Money (Presenting sponsor) , Heineken, Co-ordination, Raspa,, Naurah USA, Susannah King Jewellery , VooVix, AZ Luxe, Badass Ties, Spirit of Harrogate , Jennings & Co Financial Planning

The National Film Academy is already working on the National Film & TV Awards taking place in Los Angels on the 3rd of December 2019. If you want to become an academy member . E-mail: